Topic outline

  • General

    Lifetime Fitness

    “For you created my inmost being; you knit me together in my mother’s womb. I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well.”

    ~ Psalm 139: 13-14

    “Do you not know that your body is a temple of the Holy Spirit, who is in you, whom you received from God? You are not your own; you were bought with a price.  Therefore honor God with your body.”

     ~ I Corinthians 6:19-20

    ~ Psalm 139: 13-14

    About Me: Hi, my name is Mr. Kool and I am excited to be with you all Semester teaching Lifetime Fitness. This class excites me because becoming physically fit is not just a "high school thing" or a "college thing." Being physically fit, is truly a lifestyle and a choice we have to make as young adults. This class will teach you a variety of activities that you can partake in for the rest of your life to help you live a healthy and active lifestyle. God calls us to do this in Corinthians by treating our body as a temple. Lets honor God and have fun with this class together!

    Contact me - dkool@hollandchristian.org


  • September 5-15 - Biking Unit 2

    *click on the links for bike routes

    Tuesday, September 5 - No Class 

    Wednesday, September 6 - Block Day - Go over safety and rules, Bike the HC Block using turn signals etc., Class activity if time allows

    HC Block: 2 Miles

    Thursday, September 7 - Bike Day - Route below

    4.96 Bike Route

    Friday, September 8 - Bike Day - Bike to Captain Sundae, students need to bring money if they wish

    Captain Sundae

    Monday, September 11 - Bike Day - Route Below

    South Shore Drive Route 4.97  miles

    Tuesday, September 12 - No Class Block Day

    Wednesday, September 13 - Block Day - Longer bike route and class activity if time - route below

    Thursday, September 14 - Review Quiz-  Bike Day - Route below

    Friday, September 15 - Take Quiz followed by Class Activity/Bike Route
  • Hiking - October 2 - October 13 - Unit 4

    TRAIL WALKING/HIKING UNIT (We will be outside for everyday of this unit, backpacks and closed toed shoes are required for participation points. Feel free to bring water and snacks in your backpacks). 

    Schedule may change:

    Monday, October 2nd - Trail Walking/Hiking Intro: go over handout
    Wednesday, October 4th (Block Day) - VanRaalte Farm - 1076 E 16th Street, Holland, MI - 10 minute drive

    Thursday, October 5th - Wolters Woods Park - 6281 147th Ave, Holland, MI - 4 minute drive

    Friday, October 6th - Sanctuary Woods - 4750 66th Street, Holland, MI - 6 minute drive

    Monday, October 9th - DeGraaf Nature Center - 600 Graafschap Rd. Holland, MI - 3 minute drive

    Wednesday, October 11th (Block Day) - Saugatuck Dunes - 6575 138th Ave, Holland, MI - 13 minute drive

    Thursday, October 12th - Outdoor Discovery Center - 4214 56th Street, Holland, MI - 9 minute drive

    Friday, October 13th - HC Nature Trail Loop



     
    • August 21 - September 1 - Unit 1 Ultimate Frisbee

      Ultimate Frisbee - Unit 1

      August 22 - Introductions, Syllabus, Rules and Procedures, Class Activity (Bring clothes rest of week)

      August 23 - Rules of Ultimate - Handout, Practice Throws with Partners

      August 24 - Review Rules and Throws, Controlled Game - 4 v 4 in Smaller Court

      August 25 - Full class game of 7 v 7 Ultimate on Football Field

      August 28 - Full class game of 7 v 7 Ultimate on Football Field

      August 29 - No Class

      August 30 - Block Day - Full class game of 7 v 7 Ultimate on Football Field followed by Class Activity 

      August 31 - Full class game of 7 v 7 Ultimate on Football Field - Reminder Quiz Tomorrow 

      September 1 - Quiz on Ultimate, Class Activity 

      • Tennis - September 18-29 - Unit 3

        Monday, September 18 - Tennis Handout, Introduce forehand and backhand, practice those skills

        Tuesday, September 19 - No Class Block Day

        Wednesday, September, 20 - Review Tennis Rules, Practice forehand and backhand, Introduce serve - underhand and overhead, Small court tennis game with partners

        Thursday, September 21 - Review Serving and practice serves, review doubles rules, play a doubles game as time allows

        Friday, September 22 - Doubles Game

        Monday September 25 - Review singles rules, Singles Games

        Tuesday, September 26 - No Class Block Day

        Wednesday, September 27 - Singles Games

        Thursday, September 28 - Singles or Doubles - they pick their own partner or who to play against, Review Quiz

        Friday, September, 29 - Take Quiz, Singles or Doubles or Class Activity 

        • Floor Hockey - October 16-25 - Unit 5

          Monday, October 16 - Floor Hockey Handout with partner passing if time allows

          Tuesday, October 17 - No Class

          Wednesday, October 18 - Block Day - Floor Hockey Games 

          Thursday, October 19 - No School 

          Friday, October 20 - No School

          Monday, October 23 - Floor Hockey Games

          Tuesday, October 24 - No Class

          Wednesday, October 25 - Block Day - Floor Hockey Games followed by class activity

          Thursday, October 26 - Floor Hockey Games

          Friday, October 27 - Floor Hockey Quiz followed by Floor Hockey Games

        • Unit 6 - Team Handball - October 30-November 10

          Monday, October 30 - Introduce Team Handball Rules and Watch Videos

          Tuesday, October 31 - No Class - Block Day

          Wednesday, November 1 - Block Day - Handball Game along with Class Activity

          Thursday, November 2 - Swing Dancing and review Quiz

          Friday, November 3 - Handball Game - Mr. Kool is Gone

          Monday, November 6 - Swing Dancing Round 2 

          Tuesday, November 7 - No Class

          Wednesday, November 8 - Handball Game, Review For Handball Quiz, Class Activity

          Thursday, November 9 - Handball Quiz, Handball Game

          Friday, November 10 - Four Corners

        • Unit 7 - Badminton - November 13 - November 24

          Monday, November 13 - Introduce Badminton, Badminton Doubles - Pick Own Partner

          Tuesday, November 14 - No Class Block Day

          Wednesday, November 15 - Block Day - Badminton Doubles with assigned partners followed by Nuke Em/Volleyball

          Thursday, November 16 - Badminton Mixed Doubles Assigned partners

          Friday, November 17 - Badminton Doubles 

          Monday, November 20 - Badminton Doubles and Review for Quiz

          Tuesday, November 21 - Take Quiz followed by Badminton Doubles

          Wednesday, November 22 - No School Thanksgiving Break

          Thursday, November 23 - No School Thanksgiving Break

          Friday, November 24 - No School Thanksgiving Break

        • November 27 - December 1

          Monday, November 27 - Intro Exam, Hand back Badminton Quiz, Badminton

          Tuesday, November 28 - No Class

          Wednesday, November 29 - Badminton or 4 Corners

          Thursday, November 30 - Boccer or 4 Corners

          Friday, December 1 - Floor Hockey, Exam Prep Reminder

          • Unit 1 Second Semester - Spike Ball - January 16 - January 26

            Tuesday - First day of class, Review Syllabus

            Wednesday - No Class

            Thursday - Block Day, First day of Spike Ball, Pick a friend to team up with and play

            Friday - Spike Ball Tournament Begins

            Monday - Spike Ball Tournament Resumes

            Tuesday - Block Day - Spike Ball Tournament Resumes, Possibly a Game as well

            Wednesday - No Class

            Thursday - Review for Quiz, last day of Spike Ball

            Friday - Quiz on Spike Ball, Game Day